Arkansas slashing fees on CCW permits, renewals

Lee’s note: This just in from the Associated Press:

Final OK given to Arkansas bill cutting concealed gun fees

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) — Arkansas lawmakers have sent the governor legislation that would cut in half the license fees for carrying a concealed handgun.

The House on Monday approved by a 70-18 vote a proposal to cut the initial filing fee for a concealed handgun license from $100 to $50. The measure would also cut the license renewal fee from $50 to $25.

The measure now heads to Gov. Asa Hutchinson, who has said he supports the cut in fees.

Arkansas State Police has said the financial impact of the proposed fee cut would be $1.2 million. Arkansas has more than 224,000 concealed carry license holders.

Share.

About Author

Lee Williams can’t remember a time in his life when he wasn’t shooting. Before becoming a journalist, Lee served in the Army and worked as a police officer. He’s earned more than a dozen journalism awards as a reporter, and three medals of valor as a cop. He is an NRA-certified law enforcement firearms instructor, an avid tactical shooter and a training junkie. When he’s not busy as a senior investigative reporter, he is usually shooting his AKs, XDs and CZs. If you don’t run into him at a local gun range, you can reach him at 941.284.8553, by email, or by regular mail to 1777 Main St., Sarasota, FL 34236. You can follow him on Twitter: @HT_GunWriter and on Facebook @The Gun Writer.

1 Comment

Leave A Reply